Strategic Policy Committees (SPC’s)

Section 48 of the Local Government Act, 2001 as amended provided for the establishment of Strategic Policy Committees and a new Strategic Policy Committee Scheme was adopted in September 2014 following the 2014 Local Elections. Leitrim County Council has established 3 SPC’s as follows: -

•         Economic Development, Enterprise & Planning Strategic Policy Committee

•         Housing Policy, Social & Cultural Development Strategic Policy Committee

•         Environmental, Transportation & Infrastructural Policy Strategic Policy Committee

Each SPC consists of six (6) elected members and four (4) nominees from sectoral interests. The Council is and remains the decision making Authority, and it is the task of the SPCs, as committees of the Council, to advise and assist the Council in the formulation, development and review of policy. The SPC system is intended to give Councillors and relevant Sectoral Interests an opportunity for full involvement in the policy making process from the early stages.

 Each SPC is chaired by an elected member of Leitrim County Council and is assisted by a Director of Services.   The CPG consists of the Chairperson of each of the SPC’s together with the Cathaoirleach of the Council.  The CPG considers matters referred to it by the SPC’s before they are referred to the full council for decision. 

  • Ireland Structural and Investment Funds
  • EU European Regional Development Fund
  • What's on in Leitrim
  • Leitrim One Call
  • Leitrim Sports