Municipal Districts

Section 19 of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 inserted a new Part 3A into the Local Government Act 2001 providing that every County be divided into Municipal Districts consisting of specified local electoral areas. The elected members for the local electoral areas in each municipal district are known as ‘‘the municipal district members’’ and act in that collective capacity for the purpose of performing a range of reserved functions of the county council in respect of the municipal district. The functions of the members at district level involve a local policy/regulatory role in areas of planning, roads, traffic, housing, environmental services, recreation, amenity, community matters etc. 

County Leitrim has three Municipal Districts – Ballinamore, Carrick-on-Shannon, and Manorhamilton – with each District having 6 Members, one of whom is elected Chairperson of the Municipal District.  Municipal Meetings are held on a monthly basis with Council Meetings held on a bi-monthly basis. The bi-monthly Council meeting generally takes place on the first Monday of the month with the Municipal District Meetings generally scheduled for the second, third and fourth Mondays.

Each Municipal District is serviced by a Director of Service and a Meetings Administrator who is responsible for agenda and minutes and associated reports and correspondence. Relevant supporting staff e.g. area engineer, housing officer etc also attend meetings as required. Devolved ‘reserved functions’ are considered at district level e.g. parking place byelaws; casual trading byelaws; extinguishment of public rights of way; taking in charge public road etc. Notices of Motion in relation to local issues are also considered at Municipal level as opposed to County level with Motions in relation to County/National policy listed for consideration at bi-monthly Council Meetings.

  • Ireland Structural and Investment Funds
  • EU European Regional Development Fund
  • What's on in Leitrim
  • Leitrim One Call
  • Leitrim Sports