Floral Pride Winners 2016

Leitrim County Council hosted the Floral Pride Awards Ceremony on Tuesday 25th October, 2016 in the Bee Park Centre, Manorhamilton, Co. Leitrim. This is the 14th year of the Floral Pride initiative which is open to schools, businesses and community groups throughout the county.   A visual display of photographs of the entries to the competition was available for the public to view at the event. A special work of thanks to Harpist Ava Brogan for creating a wonderful ambiance at the ceremony with a selection of traditional and contemporary music.

Ms. Mary Quinn, Director of Services (MC) congratulated all of the groups, schools and businesses for participating in the event.  Mr. Frank Curran, Chief Executive also paid tribute to the many entrants and commended them for their work. He acknowledged their contribution to making our communities places better places to live and he outlined that Floral Pride illustrates how people in towns and villages can work together and show pride in where they live. 

Cathaoirleach of Leitrim County Council Councillor Mary Bohan presented the Floral Pride Awards.   The overall winners of the Floral Pride Award 2016 was Ballinamore Tidy - Towns - photographed here receiving their award.

Ballinamore Tidy Towns - Overall Winners Floral Pride, 2016.

Representatives of entrants to the National Pride of Place competition were also in attendance and they were presented with Certificates of Participation by Co-operation Ireland. The National Pride of Place Awards Ceremony will take place on 26th November, 2016 in Belfast, Northern Ireland.

The full list of winners at Floral Pride 2016 is as follows:


Municipal District Manorhamilton Ballinamore Carrick on Shannon
Community under 600 Newtownmanor Cloone Jamestown
Runner up Drumkeeran Fenagh Drumsna
Community over 600 Manorhamilton Ballinamore Mohill
Primary School (under 60) Ardvarney Newtowngore 
Primary School (over 60) Gaelscoil Chluainín Drumcong Scoil Mhuire, Carrick
Secondary Lough Allen Carrigallen Mohill


Smyth’s Siopa Ól


Carthy’s Lock 17

Leitrim Village


Certificates of Participation in the National Pride of Place competition were presented to the following groups:

·         Rossinver (Communities under 300),

·         Drumshanbo (Community Enterprise)

·         Carrick on Shannon (Communities between 2,000 and 5,000).

Photograph is the overall winners of the Floral Pride Event - Ballinamore Tidy Towns receiving their award.


  • Ireland Structural and Investment Funds
  • EU European Regional Development Fund
  • What's on in Leitrim
  • Leitrim One Call
  • Leitrim Sports