On-Line Resources




An Taisce - www.antaisce.org

Archaeological Survey of Ireland - www.archaeology.ie

Coillte - www.coillte.ie

Dept. of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht - http://www.ahg.gov.ie/heritage/

Dept. of Environment, Community and Local Government - www.environ.ie

Environmental Protection Agency - www.epa.ie

Inland Fisheries Ireland - www.fisheriesireland.ie

National Environmental and Sustainable Development Information Service - www.enfo.ie

National Inventory of Architectural Heritage - www.buildingsofireland.ie

National Library - www.nli.ie

National Monuments Service - www.archaeology.ie

National Museum - www.museum.ie

National Parks and Wildlife Service - www.npws.ie

Office of Public Works - www.opw.ie/en/heritage/

Ordnance Survery of Ireland - www.osi.ie

The Heritage Council - www.heritagecouncil.ie

Teagasc - www.teagasc.ie

Transport Infrastructure Ireland (Previously NRA) (for environmental works) - www.tii.ie/technical-services/environment/


Local Heritage

church fenagh

FenaghVisitors Centre - www.fenagh.com

Glenfarne - Ballroom of Romance -www.rainbowballroomofromance.com

Kiltyclogher Heritage Centre - https://www.facebook.com/Kiltyclogher-Heritage-Centre-950186531687810/

Leitrim Genealogy Centre - http://www.leitrimroots.com/

Leitrim Library - Local Studies - http://lm-vm-leitcms/eng/Community-Culture/Library/Local-Studies/

Manorhamilton Castle - www.manorhamiltoncastle.ie

Margeret of New Orleans - Birthplace - www.margaretsbirthplace.com

Sean MacDiarmada's Homestead - www.seanmacdiarmada.ie

St. George's Visitor & Heritage Centre - www.carrickheritage.com


Archaeology, Built Heritage and Industrial Heritage


An Taisce - www.antaisce.org

Archaeological Survey of Ireland - www.archaeology.ie

Association for Industrial Archaeology - http://industrial-archaeology.org/

Commissioner of Irish Lights - www.cil.ie

Database of Irish Excavation Reports - www.excavations.ie

Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht - national policy on built heritage and architecture - www.ahg.gov.ie/heritage/built-heritage/

Dry Stone Wall Association of Ireland - www.dswai.ie/

Engineers Ireland Heritage Society - www.engineersireland.ie/Groups/Societies/Heritage-Society.aspx

Group for the Study of Irish Settlements - http://irishsettlement.ie/

Industrial Heritage Association of Ireland - www.ihai.ie

Institute of Archaeologists of Ireland - www.iai.ie

Institute of Conservator-Restorers in Ireland - www.conservationireland.org/

Irish Architectural Archive - www.iarc.ie

Irish Georgian Society - www.igs.ie

Irish Post-Medieval Archaeology Group - www.ipmag.ie

Irish Railway Record Society - www.irrs.ie

Irish Workhouses - www.workhouses.org.uk/Ireland/

National Inventory of Archiectural Heritage - www.buildingsofireland.ie

Office of Public Works - www.heritageireland.ie

Railway Preservation Society of Ireland - www.steamtrainsireland.com

Royal Institute of Architects of Ireland - www.riai.ie

Transport Infrastructure Ireland (Previously the NRA) - archaeology - www.tii.ie/technical-services/archaeology/


Historical Heritage, Folklore, Archive and Genealogy

historic map of carrick

Cultural Heritage Ireland - http://www.culturalheritageireland.ie/

Genealogy Advisory Service - National Library of Ireland - www.genealogy.nationalarchives.ie

Historical Mapping - Ordnance Survey of Ireland - www.osi.ie

Industrial Heritage Association of Ireland - www.ihai.ie

Irish Society of Archives - http://www.irishsocietyforarchives.com/

Military Archives, Dept. of Defense - http://www.militaryarchives.ie/home

National Folklore Collection - www.ucd.ie/folklore/en

National Folklore - www.duchas.ie/en/info/cbe

National Library - www.nli.ie

National Museum - www.museum.ie

National Television and Radio Archives - www.rte.ie

Oral History Network of Ireland - www.oralhistorynetworkireland.ie


Natural Heritage & Biodiversity


All Ireland Invasive Species Awareness - www.invasivespecies.ie

Biodiversity Watch Project - www.biology.ie

Birdwatch Ireland - www.birdwatchireland.ie

Crann - Trees for Ireland - www.crann.ie

Geological Survey of Ireland - www.gsi.ie

Green Schools Ireland - www.greenschoolsireland.org/resources/biodiversity.217.html

Hedge Laying Association of Ireland - www.hedgelaying.ie

Irish Peatland Conservation Council - http://www.ipcc.ie/

Irish Seedsavers - http://www.irishseedsavers.ie/

Irish Whale and Dolphin Trust - www.iwdg.ie

Irish Wildlife Trust - www.iwt.ie

National Biodiversity Data Centre - www.biodiversityireland.ie/

National Environmental and Sustainable Information Service (ENFO) - www.enfo.ie

National Parks and Wildlife Service Manuals - www.npws.ie/publications/irishwildlifemanuals/

Native Woodland Trust - www.nativewoodlandtrust.ie/

Notice Nature - www.noticenature.ie

The Heritage Council - www.heritagecouncil.ie

The Irish Landscape Institute - www.irishlandscapeinstitute.com

The Marine Institute - www.marine.ie

Transport Infrastructure Ireland - www.tii.ie/technical-services/environment/

Tree Council - www.treecouncil.ie


If there are inaccuracies in any of the above please notify Aoife Mulcahy at amulcahy@leitrimcoco.ie



  • Ireland Structural and Investment Funds
  • EU European Regional Development Fund